Do libraries ever hire composers and pay salaries?

Home Forums General Questions Do libraries ever hire composers and pay salaries?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bplogic
    Participant

Hello all,

I’m still pretty fresh to the music library thing; I suppose I’ve been working at this for about 6 months now.

I’ve been wondering: my musical and technical skills are strong, but I don’t have a background in the business side. With these things in mind, it seems to me like I could be valuable to a company as an employee hired to produce music and/or sound FX, sound design, etc, while the executives manage the business.

From what I can tell and from what I’ve read here, most composers are working as self employed people. If I were well experienced in the business, this would seem pretty ideal. Since I’m not, gaining that business experience while drawing a salary seems like a good option. Sure, I might make less money than I could have made by working for myself, but then again I might not make any money at all until I become more savvy in the business.

So. Does anyone know of production houses that hire composers, producers, and/or engineers? Alternatively, are there any composers out there so busy that you’re turning down work?

Thanks,

Matt

Mark_Petrie
    Participant

Salary type arrangements for composers are rare, but in terms of ‘libraries’ (I use that term loosely) they exist in three forms that I know of:

– small TV music companies, usually run by the credited composers of TV shows, who need to farm out the work. You have to split the writer’s share with your bosses. You might have to write at a brisk pace, like two completely finished tracks a day. The work might also involve ‘finishing’ the sketch that your boss creates. That type of work is more common in scripted TV, whereas in reality TV land you’re most likely churning out track after track on an assembly line.