Home Forums Composer Interviews Chuck Hughes – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Chuck Hughes

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

I have a tune in an indie zombie movie, Dead and Breakfast, with David Carradine. I have had T.V. Placements on MTV, HGTV, Travel channel, Science channel, Animal Planet, VH1,Food Network, HBO, Science channel, Smithsonian channel. I have had 1680 Tunesat detections between Dec. 2011 and August 2013.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

Since 1994.

4.) How did you get started?

I was a guitarist in top 40 bands in the 70’s and 80’s, and taught 50 private guitar lessons at a music store weekly.  In 1994 I made a conscious decision to start writing and get out of the cover band world. I became interested in old and new rockabilly/psychobilly music, so I made a decision to form a new trio to write, record, and play only original music in that field. The bassist and I each wrote separately, and would teach each other our songs. That project resulted in two 20 song lps, and multiple tours of the U.S. And Europe, all self-booked and produced.

In 2002 we put all of our songs online for free download on mp3.com for a limited time to see what would happen. Pumpaudio was just starting out, and contacted us and licensed all 40 songs. We started getting checks in 2003. Our best check was in the $8,000 range in 2007, covering 6 months.I noticed that Pumpaudio was not getting us any film placements so in 2010 I started methodically submitting to other libraries, working with Aaron at howtolicenseyourmusic.com. This got me into a few more libraries, like Audiosparx and Audiosocket.