Fair Terms/Pitfalls? – Composer – Feature length Documentary

Home Forums Contracts Fair Terms/Pitfalls? – Composer – Feature length Documentary

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    gavincoleman
    Participant

Hi everyone.

I’ve just completed scoring my first feature documentary.
    I’ve been a documentary film editor for almost 20 years so I’m in a weird position of being a newbie in a familiar world.

I begged for the chance to let me edit AND compose for this so I’m happy to forgo upfront payment this time but I really don’t know what pitfalls to looks out for contract wise…
    I’d like to be able to re-use/ re-sell some tracks down the line..
    If the film does well, I’d like to earn royalties…
    There really is some potential for the film to have success on streaming platforms etc..

I’d really appreciate your advice.

Thanks, Gavin Coleman

#39506 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

but I really don’t know what pitfalls to looks out for contract wise…

Just don’t give the music to them exclusively, non-exclusive only.

#39509 Reply
    LAwriter
    Participant

As Art mentioned, if you want control later, you need to retain ownership of the masters and your publishing. This is generally NOT normal for film composer contracts as the production company wants complete ownership so that they can SELL the film to a distributor, streamer (Netflix), etc.. That said, it sounds like they didn’t pay you, so all bets are off. You actually should have negotiated the terms BEFORE you ever wrote a note. Now, you will probably be forced to take what they decide to give you or risk your relationship with them.