Home Forums Composer Interviews KP – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name??

KP

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

I was a staff composer for an east coast music house for 8 years before starting my own business. The theme for TLC Trading Spaces is probably the most recognizable credit but I’ve done hundreds of commercials/promos for Arby’s, Utz, NASA, Nat Geo, WalMart, Prudentail, Ford, etc.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

I started writing music about 35 years ago. I was an accompanist for the dance dept at a local university and began composing for choreographers. Great training for writing for tv!

4.) How did you get started?

I was Composer In Residence at a college back east and one of my colleagues had been recording albums at a studio that also did commercial work. He got started doing the commercial end and after about a year, he got me in the front door. As so often is true, It’s who you know.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

I started writing library music the past few years as scoring/commercial work has diminished so much. I starting out taking all my unused demos and sprucing them up.

6.) Are you making a living wage writing library/production music?

No. I get “trickle in” income from about 5 libraries. I also produce, still get some commercial work, perform and do about anything else I can find musically.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of annual earnings (low/mid/high 5, 6, 7 figures)?

I’m probably making only $5000 or so annually from library tracks.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

I am mainly self taught other than accordion lessons when I was 5 or 6. That taught me to read music and I taught myself piano and guitar when I was about 16 and later learned mandolin and hand percussion. It was a great asset, being able to play several instruments, accompanying Dance classes.