Need advice: company asking for permission to create a derivative track.

Home Forums Copyright Questions Need advice: company asking for permission to create a derivative track.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Sebmo
    Participant

Hello dear colleagues,
    I have been a composer for many years (various media and production music). I have been contacted by a computer company to use a piece of mine as a “derivative” piece for their sequel. It would be great to hear your expertise in this case. And – I have hope – it is also interesting for this community.
    Background:
    The original music was used for the first version (as a kind of theme music) of the computer game. They bought it on a non-exclusive website (some years ago) there. Paid around $50. This game became very successful and I was contacted by the company, because I protected it on Youtube via Adrev and saw that many game youtubers uploaded videos with excerpts (tutorials, gameplay…) there – and consequently received many coyright claims. (In fact, I also earned something from it. This was very annoying for the company and the youtuber, and they asked me if I could take this track completely out of the adrev. I agreed at that time – on urgent request – to do it for a payment of $600. In retrospect, I certainly earned more if I had taken the adrev money. But I would also have had more stress with angry youtubers.

Now I have received a message from this company asking for a “Permission to create a derivative track of x”. They are working on a sequel to the game and literally: “Considering its importance to our fans and our past agreements, would it be possible to have our team create a derivative of it for the new game? It would be a completely new track that just plays homage to the original.” ps – They obviously don’t have exclusive rights to the track and had they foreseen its success, they would have commissioned an exclusive track for it.