New PC Build – Seeking Advice

Home Forums Software New PC Build – Seeking Advice

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Alan
    Participant

I’m building a new Music Production PC. I have been upgrading old my PC DAW system for well over ten years and have always cloned my drives for each of the many upgrades. The result is a very messy system with VSTs and sample libraries scattered over numerous drives, plus loads of outdated software.
    It’s time for a fresh start and I’m looking for pitfalls to avoid and advice on best practices for migrating to a new system. Particularly, where to install VSTs, samples for virtual instruments, things like that. In my early days I chose default installations, which made for a mess.
    My new system will have:
    2TB SSD boot drive
    2TB SSD audio drive
    2TB SATA backup drive
    I plan to keep the old PC available indefinitely
    Any information would be appreciated

#44085 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

@Alan. Oh, I know the pain! I built a new computer a couple of years ago and still haven’t gotten all my software installed. But, early on I kept all my samples and libraries on a separate drive. VSTs I tried to keep all in one folder, separated by name of software. But, I missed some of those so my VSTs are a mess.

#44087 Reply
    Alan
    Participant

Thanks Art. My goal is to keep all my VSTs in one folder on the C: drive. I hope the iLok isn’t too much of a hassle. Although, I expect lots of headaches are in my future.

I think I remember you are a Cakewalk user. If so, have you tried to move the old third party Sonar VST instruments (Dimension Pro, Session Drummer, etc) to a new machine using Cakewalk by Bandlab? I would hate to lose those.

#44283 Reply
    jdstamper
    Participant

Here’s something that works well for me – I created my own “My Documents” folder. You could name it whatever, something like: “Alans Docs”