Original but Traditional Flamenco?

Home Forums Copyright Questions Original but Traditional Flamenco?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    JD
    Participant

Hi Folks,

I would appreciate any thoughts.

One genre that I perform, teach and write in is Flamenco. I am primarily a guitarist. Flamenco’s origins are mostly traditional, it has a range of different ‘forms’ (‘palos’ in Spanish) each of which corresponds to a specific rhythm. musical framework, guitar chord structures/voicings Mood and feel.

With melodic variations (falsetas) and characteristic techniques essential for a genuine flamenco sound.
    It is a huge, deep and complex subject with a long opaque history going back hundreds of years meaning that scholars called ‘flamencologists’ debate history, origins and authorship of the many expressions of these palos.

As with other traditional musical forms this can create difficulties in the world of music licensing/copyright and ownership of works. This is made worse by the fact that in this genre, ‘songs ‘ don’t exist!! Performances/recordings are named by the form (Palo), not a song title or lyric.

I’ve just been offered an exclusive deal by a USA library on one Flamenco track I’ve recorded.
    In order for it to be defined as Traditional Flamenco (which was stipulated in the listing request and reference tracks) it must adhere to and express recognisable Flamenco motifs with the above characteristics which are traditional in origin, while including my own original variations to avoid copyright issues

In my recording I’ve been as diligent as possible to ensure none of my guitar variations (falsetas or solos) are by iconic well know guitarists eg Paco de Lucia, Sabicas, Ramon Montoya, Niño Ricardo, (some of which could already be PD) and ensured that, while preserving the authentic vibe and typical cadence, they are my own.

How to make it true to it’s roots and definition while not infringing any IP rights?