Home Forums Composer Interviews Steve Booke – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name:?

Steve Booke

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

Oprah Winfrey Show, FIFA world cup, MTV, VH1, Discovery, Animal Planet, HGTV, American Pickers, Pitbulls and Parolees

3.) How long have you been writing music?

24 years

4.) How did you get started?

I had desire to write music that sounded like guitar players/bands that I was into at the time.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

4 years

6.) Are you making a living wage writing library/production music?

Yes, combined with recording sound alike albums

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of annual earnings (low/mid/high 5, 6, 7 figures)?

$15,000 + with production music composing.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

I graduated from Berklee, but learned composing on my own.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

Both

10.) Do you contact music supervisors, music editors or TV production companies directly?

No, not at this time.

10a.) If so how do you approach them?

N/A

11.) How do you deal with rejection?

I understand that rejection is part of this business. Not everyone will like what you do. When you are first starting out, it can take the wind out of your sails, but over time you learn to just dust yourself off quickly and move on.

12.) How do you feel about re-titling?

I really don’t have an opinion about it either way.

13.) What do you have the most success with, royalty free sites or back end PRO royalties?

Definitely back end. I have had some bad experiences with royalty free and steer clear of them now.

14.) Any tips about writing descriptions, keywords and/or metadata?