Home Forums Stuart Moore Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Stuart Moore

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

Over 60 different cable shows and recently a few network shows including a primetime ABC show called The Middle.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

About 10 years.

4.) How did you get started?

When I got a computer and DAW and just started recording different ideas.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

5 years

6.) Are you making a living wage?

Yes, only because I’m married.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of earnings (low/mid/high 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 figures)?

5 figures

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

I was self taught and eventually went on to do a music degree where I had piano lessons for the first time.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

Mainly non exclusive. I tried an exclusive once but they got the same type of placements as the non exclusives I’m with, ie cable shows, no upfront money and a few dollars from ASCAP.

10.) Do you contact music supervisors, music editors or TV production companies directly?

Haven’t been brave enough to take that step yet no.

10a.) If so how do you approach them?

11.) How do you deal with rejection?

Cry myself to sleep. Haha, no it really doesn’t bother me as I know different libraries have different needs. Its a shame most libraries don’t really tell you the reason for the rejection but its best just to move on, keep writing, keep submitting etc etc.

12.) How do you feel about re-titling?

I work with one library that does this. I think thats my limit. It would be confusing to have the same song with multiple different names in different libraries.

11.) What do you have the most success with, royalty free sites or back end PRO royalties?

Royalty free sites although my ASCAP earnings are steadily increasing.