I was offered this amount of money for a release

Home Forums Newbie Questions I was offered this amount of money for a release

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Peter Andersson
    Participant

I was offered 28,000 USD to release a library with 18 tracks in it. I googled the company and it seems they are major. I think its called buy-out? Publisher keep 100% of the share and 50% writers share goes to me. I am new to this world. They approached me on Twitter. Is this a normal deal for a production music library?

Which termology should I keep in mind here, I heard so many.. like publishers share, owners share, writers share….

#14583 Reply
    gdomeier
    Participant

28k sounds good to me, but I don’t have much experience in this business. I’m curious to hear what some of the vets think.

#14584 Reply
    More advice

Hi Peter,

I would move very slowly in this deal. Sleep on it a few days. Basically they are taking ownership of your music for about $1500 per track. Yes they are “buying your music forever” and also taking 100% publishing share and 50% writers share leaving you with 50% of the 200% pool for future royalties. Basically, you will lose control of your intellectual property, they will own it and be able to exploit it for profit forever in exchange for $28,000.

Make sure you get the offer in writing and really study the terms of the agreement before you sign on.

Sending an offer via twitter is a bit strange? Can you link us to the album they want to buy?

#14586 Reply
    kiwi

From my experience $28k is a phenomenal amount of money. Four years ago when I was less experienced I was offered $300 a track for 6 tracks with the same backend you’ve been offered. I negotiated for 100% of the writer’s and they went for it but I had misgivings and lofty ideas regarding potential so I didn’t sign. Not the best move. Those tracks have made money since then but not as much.