I've got music, I've been approached, I need help fast

Home Forums Newbie Questions I've got music, I've been approached, I need help fast

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    geezabrek
    Participant

Hi, I need some help. I’m based in the UK

I’m new to music syncing. I am a pianist and compose my own work. I recorded a selection of tracks at a local recording studio and forwarded a CD to a number of libraries last year. I never heard back and kinda put the whole idea on the backburner. I’ve recently been contacted by a handful of companies that seem really interested.

I want to ensure I protect myself and my work correctly as so far I’ve only recorded my work, I’ve not got a record label or publisher or anything like that.

I’ve registered for a membership with PRS (I’m based in the UK) but I’m not sure what to do, or how to register my work, or what to even enter on the website. Should I register my work with PRS prior to agreeing to anything with these companies?

Also should I be registering my masters with a copyright service? Can you recommend one?

Is there anything else I should be considering? Sorry for all the questions I’m kinda in unknown territory here. and I cant seem to find a good guide on what to do, or even who to speak to, to get the right advice.

Thanks in advance.

#24275 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Bump

#24287 Reply
    Philtunes
    Participant

Hi, regarding some of your questions. if the libraries are in the uk. Check the contracts.
    1 join PRS. They will send you the standard reg number which you will need for log in. Register each piece on the Cd….The name of each piece etc. You will be given a no.code so you can refer to the usage in the future.
    2 make sure PRS have your address and email. They send regular updates.