G. S. – Composer Interview

Home Forums Composer Interviews G. S. – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Anonymous by request (verified by moderator).

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

A Very famous TV show’s Theme song, Several TV show’s incidental music, many TV ads…

3.) How long have you been writing music?

I wrote my 1st song when I was 12 years old but I got serious about writing in 2000.

4.) How did you get started?

I was making money as a sideman playing gigs but I wanted to make more $$. I thought a good way to do it was writing music. So I learned how to use Pro Tools and subscribed to TAXI and started submitting songs.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

Not long. I’m just getting into it now.

6.) Are you making a living wage writing library/production music?

Yes writing but not much with libraries yet.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of annual earnings (low/mid/high 5, 6, 7 figures)?

6 figures

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

I have a BA in studio music and jazz performance. The production side I learned it on my own.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes.

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

I have a library I write for in Europe that only accepts exclusive material. So far, everything I sent got some sort of placement. But I’ve also submitted to non-exclusive libraries.

10.) Do you contact music supervisors, music editors or TV production companies directly?

Until recently I was working at a music house writing for TV commercials so I would contact agencies and producers. I’ve also contacted music supervisors in the past.

10a.) If so how do you approach them?

I usually try to keep it simple, short and to the point. Make them aware that I exist. I also put in my calendar a reminder to follow up every few weeks/months or whatever they ask.