Blanket Licenses

Home Forums General Questions Blanket Licenses

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 46 total)
  • Author
    Frankie

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to the library scene – so don’t flame me for asking 🙂

But, how come no one seems upset about blanket licenses? Example, composers working their butts off and getting 50 placements (some that they probably didn’t even get paid for – SCRIPPS network) with mediocre royalties while the libraries pull in huge numbers of blanket license monies per year.

Wouldn’t it make sense to at least distribute a small portion of blanket licenses to the composers who had music placed within that year? I cannot see the tv market being sustainable for a composer if he’s sending his tracks to libraries like that.

Interested in hearing your opinions

#14857 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Nobody likes it but it’s a sad fact of the state of affairs that’s been going on for years. One company (SK) was paying a small portion of blanket licenses to composers. Not sure they still do.

#14858 Reply
    Frankie

In my humble opinion, these TV libraries could at least do some type of “dividend” payout or a “bonus” for composers who had music placed throughout the year (differing amounts depending on how many placements each artist obtained – similar to the way PROs do things). I would like to think that’s the future of this business, but I’m probably being naive in thinking so.

I see libraries send out email newsletters/updates regarding their new network clients on board (SK being one of them), and although that’s great and it means more potential placements for composers, I wonder how much money they are pulling in while even their top composers get a meager royalty amount. Obviously the library deserves more cut of the pie, but I’m thinking that cut is astronomically large…

#14859 Reply
    Advice