How many non-exclusive libraries are worth dealing with?

Home Forums General Questions How many non-exclusive libraries are worth dealing with?

• This topic has 11 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by jose.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    bplogic
    Participant

Hello all,

I’m relatively new to the world of actually trying to make money in the library business, however I have been a dedicated musician and audio engineer for a couple decades now. No placements for me yet, but I’m aware that I’ll need a lot of cues out there and that this takes time.

My business skills are still very much in development, so I’ve really appreciated the folks who have been willing to share their expertise in this area.

So, on to the question: Right now I have about 10 cues put together. I’m feeling pretty good about them, and some or all have been accepted into a number of non-exclusive libraries like Crucial, MIBE, Getty, etc. Getting accepted doesn’t seem like too much of an issue for me so far.

What is an issue is the amount of time required to submit new tracks to the growing number of libraries I’m contracted with. I find that, as I’m accepted into more libraries, the submission process really cuts into the time I would normally spend producing music.

For those of you who deal with a lot of non-exclusive tracks, how many libraries to you generally maintain catalogs with? Financially speaking, does anyone have an opinion regarding how many libraries it’s worth regularly uploading new tracks to before you reach the point of diminishing returns?

Thanks,

Matt

#24277 Reply
    Squidward

None. Only deal with exclusives. Non-exclusives have made me almost no money.

#24279 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

None. Only deal with exclusives. Non-exclusives have made me almost no money.

On the other hand I have made way more with my non-exclusives than exclusives.

#24280 Reply
    bplogic
    Participant