Composing orchestra music

Home Forums General Questions Composing orchestra music

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jesse shobbrook

Hello all I started recording my music about 3 months ago and recently purchased complete composers 2 which include Hollywood strings gold. I’ve been focusing on piano and string pieces but I feel I’m struggling to get the real power that strings can add to a mix. I understand it takes years to master orchestra music but as I am self-taught at piano and don’t know much of music theory I would like to know if anybody has any tips for mapping out an orchestra piece. atmI Im setting 1 group or violins as the general melody the piano is playing then have the cellos and base playing similar melody but on lower octaves.
    Links to my recent songs witch include strings are below
    My goal is to compose for trailer music as I feel it fits my style the most. So any tip or suggesting on learning the skills needed to get that stage would be brilliant

Art Munson
    Keymaster

Search for “Mark Petrie” here on MLR. You can find some great tips he’s posted.

jesse shobbrook

all i could find is his 3 parts process for making trailer music. witch ill defo put into practice. but couldn’t find any info about composing orchestra on his reply to comments list :/

Nadege Composer