Undercutting???

Home Forums General Questions Undercutting???

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 56 total)
  • Author
    MichaelL
    Participant

There’s been a lot of talk on here recently about raising prices on RF sites.

I was checking out one particular RF site for a new catalog that I’m launching and found that many people with similar products are selling below the site’s minimum price level for that product.

Not only did they not get the “raise your price memo,” but they are undercutting everyone else in the same library. The question is what to do?

_Michael

#12521 Reply
    More advice

Michael L, I can only assume you have good, professional music as your writings on MLR indicate that you have experience and proven success, and you have been doing this for 30 years. I am going to say this again. I have been beating this drum for 4 months now. In May, I raised my prices from $40 and $50 in to now $100 for INSTR cues. Those with vocals, I priced even higher. The results are in: I am making more money each month. Not a lot more, but more.

Forget about the undercutters. Clients that need a track will not buy a $50 Track when they like a $100 track better. Does any business lose sleep over $50?

I also do not distinguish between 15’s and 30’s and full length nonsense. I just made everything across the board $100 for instr’s

Regarding the undercutters, write to the library and inform them of the lack of consistency and poor ethics on their part.

EVERYONE RAISE YOUR PRICES TO $100….LOL!!! My test results are in and I am making more money!!!!!! Get on board with me. I am not lying or distorting the facts, I have made more since I raised prices.

Next Point: I’m happy about some more monthly income, but dissatisfied with the income and sales staying constant even though I have up-loaded more content over the last 6 months.